

# SRI VIDYA MANDIR ARTS & SCIENCE COLLEGE

(Autonomous)

(An Autonomous College Affiliated to Periyar University, Salem)
(Accredited by NAAC with 'A' Grade [3.27])
(Recognised 2(f) & 12(B) under UGC Act of 1956)
Vignesh Nagar, Katteri – 636 902, H. Eachampadi (Via),
Uthangarai (Tk), Krishnagiri (Dt.), Tamil Nadu

# Minutes of the Second Board of Studies Meeting for the Postgraduate (M.Sc. Physics) Programme in PG and Research Department of Physics, Sri Vidya Mandir Arts & Science College (Autonomous)

Date: 17.08.2020 (Monday)

Time: 10.00 a.m.

Mode: Online (Zoom App)

The Second Board of Studies Meeting for the Postgraduate (M.Sc. Physics) Programme in PG and Research Department of Physics, Sri Vidya Mandir Arts & Science College (Autonomous), Sri Vidya Mandir Arts & Science College (Autonomous) was conducted as per the guidelines of the University Grants Commission (UGC) on 17.08.2020 at 10.00 a.m. through Online (Zoom App) platform. The following Members were present in the meeting.

## **Members Present**

#### 1. Dr. R. Arivuselvi

Chairman

Assistant Professor and Head PG & Research Department of Physics Sri Vidya Mandir Arts and Science College (Autonomous) Katteri – 636 902, Uthangarai Krishnagiri District, Tamil Nadu

#### 2. Dr. P. Kumaradhas

**University Nominee** 

Professor and Head Department of Physics Periyar University, Periyar Palkalai Nagar Salem – 636 011, Tamil Nadu

#### 3. Dr. S. Gunasekaran

Dean, Research and Development St. Peter's University Avadi – 600 054, Chennai, Tamil Nadu (Subject Expert from outside the Parent University)

# 4. Dr. S. Pari

(Subject Expert from outside the Parent University)

Associate Professor and Head

PG & Research Department of Physics

National College (Autonomous)

Trichy – 620 001, Tamil Nadu

# 5. Dr. M. Selvapandiyan

(Special Invitee)

**Associate Professor** 

Department of Physics

Periyar University PG Extension Center

Dharmapuri – 636 705, Tamil Nadu

# 6. Dr. M. Alagiri

(Postgraduate Meritorious Alumnus)

Assistant Professor (Sr. Grade)

Department of Physics and Nanotechnology

SRM University, SRM Nagar

Kattankulathur – 603 203

Chengalpattu District, Tamil Nadu

# 7. Dr. K.M. Prabu

Member

**Assistant Professor** 

PG & Research Department of Physics

Sri Vidya Mandir Arts and Science College (Autonomous)

Katteri – 636 902, Uthangarai

Krishnagiri District, Tamil Nadu

# 8. Dr. S. Suresh

Member

**Assistant Professor** 

PG & Research Department of Physics

Sri Vidya Mandir Arts and Science College (Autonomous)

Katteri – 636 902, Uthangarai

Krishnagiri District, Tamil Nadu

# 9. Dr. R. Dhinesh Kumar

Member

**Assistant Professor** 

PG & Research Department of Physics

Sri Vidya Mandir Arts and Science College (Autonomous)

Katteri – 636 902, Uthangarai

Krishnagiri District, Tamil Nadu

#### 9. Dr. S. Cholan

Member

Assistant Professor
PG & Research Department of Physics
Sri Vidya Mandir Arts and Science College (Autonomous)
Katteri – 636 902, Uthangarai
Krishnagiri District, Tamil Nadu

Dr. R. Arivuselvi, the Chairman of the Board of Studies (BOS) addressed the gathering with a warm welcome to the University Nominee, Subject Experts, Special Invitee, Postgraduate Meritorious Alumnus and other Members of the BOS. During her introductory speech, she briefed the details of the agenda and the academic theme to be discussed. The corrections/modifications suggested proposed by the Committee during the first BOS Meeting held on 06.03.2020 was carried out and submitted the revised/modified syllabi for this second BOS Meeting.

The Agenda of the Meeting was taken up for discussion. The following points were discussed during the Meeting. The resolutions made in the Meeting are given below:

# <u>AGENDA</u>

- To finalize syllabi for M.Sc. Physics Programme for the academic year 2020-2021 and thereafter.
- 2. To prepare scheme of examinations and question paper pattern.

## RESOLUTIONS

- The Committee suggested to change/revise the whole syllabus in the Mathematical Physics Course.
- The Committee suggested to modify some topics in III and V units of the Numerical and Computational Methods Course.
- The Committee advised to pointedly revise the topics in Electronics, Microprocessor and Microcontroller, and Molecular Spectroscopy Courses.
- 4. The Committee suggested some minor modifications in Elective Courses.

- 5. The Committee suggested to provide credit for the Internship Programme.
- The Committee discussed about the Question Paper Structure of the theory examination and Unanimously Recommended to follow the following Question Paper Pattern.
  - Maximum marks for theory examination will be 100 marks, out of which 75 marks will be allotted for End Semester Examinations (ESE) and 25 marks will be distributed for Continuous Internal Assessment (CIA).
  - A Part A in ESE will be conducted in the form of Objective Type Questions for 15 marks  $(15 \times 1 = 15 \text{ Marks})$ .
  - For Part B, it is suggested to conduct the examination with 5 questions (each unit should contain one question). Out of the 5 questions, 3 questions to be answered (3 × 5 = 15 Marks).
  - \$ questions in either or pattern (each unit should contain one either or type question) were suggested to ask in Part C ( $5 \times 9 = 45$  Marks).
  - Total duration of the exam will be 3 hours.
- 7. The CIA for 25 marks was suggested to follow in the following manner
  - Written examination (CIA Test) for 10 marks.
  - Seminar for 5 marks.
  - Assignment for 5 marks.
  - Attendance for 5 marks.

The Committee Unanimously Recommended to finalize the syllabi for M.Sc. Physics Programme after overviewed the corrected/modified syllabi.

1. R. Nris

2. Geny.

3.

4.

5. Whooping

6. Ilealaegry
8. J. J.

10. s. Loy